UCAS tariff points for Graded and Vocational Graded Examinations in Dance

The UCAS Tariff points applicable to higher education courses starting from September 2017 are as listed below.

The tariff has been calculated based on the size of the qualification and the grade awarded.  There are 4 size bands and 12 grade bands which are calculated based on A level and AS level grades.  The size band and the grade band for each qualification are multiplied to obtain the tariff points.

The tariff points for Graded and Vocational Graded Examinations at Level 3 are shown in the table below. 

Grade Tariff Points
  Grade 8 Grade 7 Grade 6
Distinction 20 16 12
Merit 18 14 10
Pass 16 12 8
Grade Tariff Points
  Advanced Foundation Intermediate
Distinction 24 20
Merit 20 14
Pass 16 8

Are UCAS tariff points universally accepted by Universities?

Not necessarily. Every University is self-governing which means that individual Universities will have their own policies and procedures for dealing with applications from prospective students.

What should candidates do if they want to use my tariff points on an application?

We would strongly advise that they contact the Universities that they are applying to and talk to the Admissions staff about your application. The University will be able to advise them about whether their tariff points will count towards their application.

What happens if a University doesn’t accept the tariff points for Dance?

For some Universities and some courses the tariff points may not count in themselves, but that doesn’t mean that the qualifications shouldn’t form part of the application. Having a range of skills, knowledge and understanding and other interests will all make a difference to a personal statement. Some Universities will like the fact that prospective students have a range of other interests outside of the course they are applying for.

Which qualifications count towards the tariff points?

The tariff points are allocated to Graded Examinations in Dance at Grades 6, 7 and 8 and Vocational Graded Examinations at Intermediate and Advanced Foundation. These are at level 3 in the Qualifications and Credit Framework. Only qualifications which are recognised as part of the Qualifications and Credit Framework will count towards the tariff points. Any qualifications gained before 1st January 2013 will not be allocated tariff points.

Where can I find out further information?

Further information about the UCAS tariff can be found at the UCAS website: www.ucas.com

A full list of the tariff tables can be found here